India Markets closed

Jharkhand Assembly election Phase 3 Live: 45.89% voter turnout recorded till 1 PM

FE Online
Jharkhand Assembly elections

Jharkhand election live updates: An estimated 45.14 per cent of the over 56 lakh eligible voters exercised their franchise till 1 PM on Thursday in the third of the five-phase Jharkhand assembly elections in 17 constituencies. While polling at Ranchi, Hatia, Kanke, Barkatha and Ramgarh seats will end at 5 pm, voters in rest of the constituencies can exercise their franchise till 3 pm. A total of 56,18,267 voters are eligible to cast votes in the 17 constituencies across eight districts. The voters include a total of 26,80,205 women and 86 third gender voters. A total of 309 candidates including 32 women are in the fray. The key candidates include three ministers — CP Singh, Ramchandra Sahis and Neera Yadav. Also, former chief minister Babulal Marandi and former deputy chief minister and All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) president Sudesh Mahto are in the fray in this phase. The seats where polling is underway include Koderma, Barkatha, Barhi, Mandu, Hazaribagh, Simaria (SC), Barkagaon, Ramgarh, Dhanwar, Gomia, Berma, Ichagarh, Silli, Khijri (ST), Ranchi, Hatia and Kanke (SC). The assembly elections to the 81-member House began on November 30 and will end on December 20. Results will be declared on December 23. The tenure of Jharkhand Legislative Assembly expires on January 5 next year.