India markets closed

    -154.89 (-0.31%)
  • Nifty 50

    -38.95 (-0.26%)

    +0.1580 (+0.21%)
  • Dow

    +297.03 (+0.89%)
  • Nasdaq

    +70.88 (+0.51%)

    +37,277.00 (+0.84%)
  • CMC Crypto 200

    +8.34 (+0.68%)
  • Hang Seng

    -309.27 (-1.07%)
  • Nikkei

    +59.08 (+0.20%)

    +0.0430 (+0.05%)

    -0.0108 (-0.01%)

    +0.0430 (+0.21%)

    +0.0019 (+0.13%)

    +0.0690 (+0.12%)

Gujarat Local Body Election Results 2021 Updates: AAP, AIMIM continue streak of bagging seats in Congress strongholds

FP Staff
·4-min read

Gujarat Local Body Election Results 2021 LATEST News and Updates: AAP and AIMIM have won seats in traditional Congress strongholds. AAP won 31 taluka and 2 district seats while AIMIM is now the principle opposition in Modasa and Godhra.

The ruling BJP won all the 31 district panchayats, 70 out of 81 municipalities, and was far ahead of its main rival Congress in the 231 taluka panchayats.

The saffron party has won 6,110 out of the total 8,474 seats while the Congress could only secure 1,768 seats.

The BJP is leading in 75 of the 81 municipalities and 196 of the 231 taluka panchayats, reported the Times of India. According to India Today, the party has won all 31 district panchayats.

Congress' Amit Chavda said that the results were contrary to the party's expectations but the party accepts people's mandate.

"Results of the Nagar Palika, Taluka Panchayat and District Panchayat polls across Gujarat give a crystal clear message- Gujarat is firmly with the BJP's agenda of development and good governance," tweeted Narendra Modi.

Gujarat Congress President Amit Chavda resigns from his post after the party put up a poor show in the Gujarat local body elections. According to reports, Leader of Opposition in the Gujarat Assembly Paresh Dhanani has also tendered his resignation.

According to reports, the BJP has won in 18 out of 31 district panchayats in Gujarat. These include Ahmedabad, Porbandar, Jungadh, Amreli, Navsari, Valsad, Surat, Dev Bhoomi Dwarka, Gir Somnath, Botad and Aravalli, Kutch, Rajkot, Anand, Vadodara, Tapi and Narmada.

BJP wins eight out of 11 taluka panchayats in Rajkot district. The saffron party has also wrested Rajkot district panchayat back from Congress.

According to reports, AIMIM has won nine seats in the Modasa municipality. Party chief Asaduddin Owaisi congratulated the newly elected representatives.

As per the results available till 1 pm in municipalities, the BJP has so far won 803 seats and the Congress-159. In district panchayats, the BJP has till now bagged 246 seats and the Congress-55. In taluka panchayats, the BJP has so far emerged victorious in 1,036 seats and the Congress in 388 seats.

The BJP gained a lead by winning 2,085 seats, while the Congress won 602 seats so far across various municipalities, district and taluka panchayats in Gujarat where results for 2,771 seats out of the total 8,474 were declared till 1 pm on Tuesday. New entrant Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won 15 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party five, while Independents have won 42 seats, it said

The BJP has won 16 seats , while Congress has bagged 8 of 24 seats in the Savli Municipality, said reports. With this, the saffron party retains the municipality for the fourth straight term.

As counting of votes cast in the 28 February polls continued, the Aam Aadmi Party said in a tweet that 24 party candidates have emerged victorious so far.

Counting of votes for polls to 81 municipalities, 31 district panchayat and 231 taluka panchayat will be held on Tuesday.

The polling took place on Sunday with municipalities recording a voter turnout of 58.82 percent, while the figure was 65.8 for the district panchayats and 66.6 percent for taluka panchayats.

The final figures were released by the State Election Commission on Monday.

Re-polling was held during the day in a booth in Ghodiya in Jhalod taluka of Dahod district after two EVMs were damaged during Sunday's polling by three people.

The booth recorded around 50 percent turnout during the re-poll, officials said.

Police on Monday said 17 people were arrested in Vadodara for allegedly taking custody of EVMs after polling late Sunday evening in Tarsva in Waghodia taluka.

The mob had claimed the EVMs were tampered and police had to fire a round in the air and lob four teargas shells to bring the situation under control, said a Waghodia police station official.

Polls were held for 8,235 out of 8,474 seats as candidates were elected unopposed on 237 seats and no forms were submitted in two, SEC officials said.

For the 8,235 seats, the BJP fielded 8,161 candidates, Congress 7,778, Aam Aadmi Party 2,090, among others, said the SEC.

Also See: Gujarat local body poll results: BJP sweeps panchayats, municipalities with 6,110 seats; Congress down to 1,768

Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021 Updates: BJP sweeps polls, AAP, AIMIM make inroads on Congress' expense

Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021: BJP makes a clean sweep; AAP, AIMIM make gains, Congress crumbles

Read more on Politics by Firstpost.