India Markets closed

Delhi Election 2020 HIGHLIGHTS: Congress releases list of candidates for 54 seats, Alka Lamba to contest from Chandni Chowk

FE Online
Delhi Election 2020 Live, Congress Candidate List for Delhi Election 2020

Congress Full Candidate List for Delhi Election 2020 HIGHLIGHTS: Delhi Assembly election 2020 Live Updates: The Congress today released the names of 54 candidates for Delhi assembly elections.  Alka Lamba will contest from Chandni Chowk and Arvinder Singh Lovely from Gandhi Nagar and Adarsh Shastri from Dwarka. Today, the Congress’ Central Election Committee met at Sonia Gandhi’s residence to finalise the list of candidates. The meeting was attended by top Congress leaders including the Delhi unit chief Subhash Chopra, the party’s in charge of Delhi PC Chako, senior leaders Ahmed Patel and KC Venugopal.

In Delhi, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is holding talks with the Congress to seal an alliance. According to news agency ANI, the Congress has offered four seats to the party led by jailed Lalu Prasad Yadav. While the ruling Aam Aadmi Party has declared the full list of 70 candidates, the Bharatiya Janata Party has released the first list comprising 57 names. The filing of nomination is currently under. The last date of filing nomination is January 21. Voting for the 70 assembly seats in Delhi will take place on February 8. The counting of votes will take place on February 11.